October 29, 2012

Just a Cracker?

A few weeks ago, I picked up my 10 year old son from school, and he told me about a great business idea he had.

"You know where a great place to open a doughnut shop would be?", he asked me.

"Where?", I replied.

"Next to a church. Because when people get out of Mass, they would be thinking, 'I'm really hungry, all they gave me to eat was one stupid cracker....hey, look! Doughnuts!' "

I laughed out loud! A couple of weeks later, I began to see the wisdom in his words, whether intended or not.

October 6, 2012

Lectio Divina of the Dao

Lectio Divina (Latin for "divine reading") is a traditional Catholic practice for studying scripture. It is normally performed in four steps, also called "four movements":

1. Lectio ("read")

2. Meditatio ("meditate")

3. Oratio ("pray")

4. Contemplatio ("contemplate")

Traditionally, these steps were performed in order. Lectio is simply reading the text, whichever text you wish. However, it is typically preceded by a period of calming the mind. This idea of calming the mind first comes from Psalm 46:10, "Be still, and know that I am God."